DealPriceCheckCompare today. Save tomorrow.

SIM-only comparison

1pMobile vs Sky Mobile 10GB SIM: Which Should You Choose?

1pMobile 10GB is the more flexible EE-network option; Sky Mobile 10GB offers O2 coverage and Sky Piggybank, but the specific Sky deal linked here has a 24-month minimum term. Choose between them by signal, time horizon, full payment schedule, excess-data behaviour and roaming. There is no permanent cheapest winner: a lower starting bill can be a poor deal if you need to leave early or pay for extras. Both offer ordinary UK phone SIM service, not a dedicated data-only product.

This guide is a head-to-head decision, not a second 10GB deal catalogue. To compare all selected 10GB offers and their live prices, use our 10GB SIM-only deals catalogue. For data-use estimates across every allowance, see how much mobile data do I need?.

Compare the two specific offers: 1pMobile 10GB plan details and Sky Mobile 10GB plan details. Both pages have existing tracked View Deal buttons. Neither link guarantees the advertised Sky promotional rate will be available to every buyer at final checkout; check the exact Contract Summary before ordering.

Your decision in 30 seconds

What matters mostFirst plan to inspectThe trade-off
Keep your commitment short; EE works well1pMobile 10GBAuto-renews every 30 days; UK usage beyond 10GB can cost 1p/MB
O2 signal and saving unused dataSky Mobile 10GBLinked offer has a 24-month minimum, eligibility checks and possible roaming charges
Lowest cash cost on any suitable networkLive exact-10GB offersSome non-partner alternatives may be cheaper; check their whole-term cost
A month already close to 10GBCompare 20GBPaying for more data can beat a small bundle plus excess usage

How do other 10GB providers compare with 1pMobile and Sky?

1pMobile and Sky are not the only 10GB choices. The following operators appeared in the current DealPriceCheck catalogue, including offers on EE, O2 and Vodafone/Three. These are comparison candidates, not a ranking by price and not an assertion that every operator is a DealPriceCheck affiliate.

10GB optionUK networkTypical arrangement in the checked rangeWhy it may be worthwhileThe catch
1pMobile 10GBEERenewable 30-day prepaid BoostEE coverage, short commitment, ordinary UK calls and textsExcess UK data is charged per MB; account credit and automatic top-up settings matter
Sky Mobile 10GBO224-month pay-monthly offer in the checked cardDifferent network; eligible unused data saved in Sky PiggybankCredit assessment, minimum-term liability, possible price rises, paid roaming on applicable trips
Talkmobile 10GBVodafone / Three network arrangements30-day rolling offer in the checked catalogueA cheaper-looking short contract may suit a good-signal areaConfirm current host-network coverage, credit process and roaming terms
spusu 10GBEEShort rolling contractAnother EE-based comparison with its own featuresNot the same network features, support or payment rules as 1pMobile
Asda Mobile 10GBVodafone / Three network arrangementsOne-month and longer-term offers in the checked catalogueSeveral contract-length choicesA lower headline price can need a longer commitment; compare full cost
O2 10GBO2Short rolling option in the checked catalogueO2 retail account and eligible extrasDo not assume the same benefits or price as Sky because both use O2 coverage

Our live 10GB comparison is the place to see current cards and filters. Use the live cards to check whether a neighbouring deal with more data has a better total cost or a more suitable network. Comparison does not mean that every operator has a tracked purchase route through DealPriceCheck.

The five questions that actually distinguish the two offers

A £2 difference per payment can mean different things on a rolling Boost and a long contract. Ask these questions in order:

  1. Will the network work inside your home? If you have not tried O2 coverage, Sky's lower advertised opening price is not evidence that a two-year plan will be better value.
  2. How many months will you realistically keep it? Someone moving abroad after three months and someone staying two years should not compare the same minimum-term totals.
  3. How often will you cross 10GB? With 1pMobile, 200MB extra at 1p/MB costs £2. Buying a slightly larger Boost can be cheaper before overage becomes a pattern.
  4. Do you actually use rollover? Piggybank has value when you withdraw saved data. It has little practical value if you habitually save it and let it expire.
  5. Do you travel? Sky's daily roaming charge can outweigh a small monthly saving on some trips. The suitable network still matters more than one attractive headline figure.

The comparison is deliberately specific to a 30-day EE-hosted prepaid Boost versus a 24-month O2-hosted pay-monthly offer. For an all-network price ranking, the live 10GB catalogue is the appropriate page.

What if another plan has more than 10GB for less money?

Take the larger plan if its total cost, network, term and restrictions are as good or better. Some networks price 15GB, 20GB, 25GB or even 50GB packages below an exact-10GB tariff. Paying more just to keep "10GB" on the box is not saving money.

If budget is the main constraint, browse SIM-only deals under £10, which covers different data allowances. If you are certain you need exactly 10GB, use the 10GB catalogue. The two pages solve different shopping problems.

1pMobile 10GB vs Sky Mobile 10GB: which is the better deal?

Choose 1pMobile first when EE signal is dependable and you value being able to stop or change a renewable 30-day bundle. Consider Sky first when O2 covers your regular locations well, you are comfortable with the minimum term and you will actually use Sky Piggybank. The same buyer may reasonably choose differently depending on coverage, time horizon and how often they travel.

Question1pMobile 10GBSky Mobile 10GB
Whose network?EE, through 1pMobileO2, through Sky Mobile
What is the product?Voice, text and data Boost renewed every 30 daysPay-monthly voice, text and data plan
Commitment in the linked offerRenewable 30-day bundle, no long fixed minimum24-month minimum in the specific linked card
Standard credit check?The named prepaid Boost advertises no conventional credit checkSubject to Sky's credit and eligibility process
If data goes unusedNo Sky-style PiggybankEligible unused data can build up in Sky Piggybank for up to 12 months
When 10GB runs outOut-of-bundle UK data may be charged at 1p/MB, or you can get an extra BoostSee Sky's data add-on, Mix and Piggybank rules; do not assume free unlimited data
RoamingEligible European use of the domestic 10GB, subject to destination and long-stay rulesSky roaming passport may charge for each 24-hour period of use in participating destinations; check exceptions
5G / eSIM5G on eligible devices; eSIM ordering exists, but the 10GB DealPriceCheck card says eSIM not statedThe named card states 5G and eSIM; check handset and activation support
Best reason to shortlistFlexible EE-network serviceO2-based coverage and a useful data rollover feature

A 24-month headline price cannot be compared directly with a 30-day payment. The longer plan may look cheaper in month one and cost more overall once contractual increases, early-exit risk or paid roaming are counted. A higher-looking rolling payment can also be money well spent if you are likely to change network within a few months.

When does Sky Piggybank really save you money?

Piggybank helps most when your usage varies. Suppose you use 6GB of a 10GB allowance in a month: an eligible 4GB leftover can go into Piggybank instead of disappearing. If a later month is busier, you may be able to use the saved data. That has real value if you occasionally need extra data but do not want a larger allowance every month.

That 4GB is not equivalent to £4 cash. Sky says you must wait until after the first bill period to see rollover, unused data is available for up to 12 months, and data redeemed to top up a SIM is used in whole 1GB increments. A family can share eligible Piggybank data between SIMs on the same account, subject to Sky's rules. If your usage stays at 2–3GB every month, compare 5GB SIM-only offers rather than paying for 10GB simply to accumulate data you might never redeem.

Is 1pMobile really "no contract"?

Its 10GB Boost is charged and renewed automatically every 30 days, but it is not a 12- or 24-month minimum-term agreement. "No long contract" does not mean a one-off purchase with no repeat payment, so if you only need one period, check how and when to stop the next renewal. It also does not mean usage beyond the included data is free.

For a direct comparison, use 1pMobile's exact 10GB card and Sky's exact 10GB card, not a generic provider homepage. They are the closest route to the selected offers.

Which buyer actually needs a 10GB allowance?

A 10GB offer is a sensible starting point when your highest ordinary mobile-data month stays below roughly 8GB and much of your streaming happens on Wi-Fi. The full explanation of streaming, hotspot consumption and larger allowances belongs to our mobile-data sizing guide; here the practical issue is how a burst of usage affects 1pMobile's paid overage versus Sky's Piggybank or add-on options.

Ten gigabytes across a 30-day Boost averages about 333MB per day, but that is only arithmetic: it is a shared allowance, not a daily cap. Sky's billing period is by calendar month on the linked offer.

Your last three comparable monthsPractical verdictNext step
2.1GB, 3.6GB, 3.0GB10GB may be unnecessarily generousCompare 5GB offers before buying
5.5GB, 6.9GB, 7.4GB10GB gives reasonable headroomCompare network and contract costs for 10GB
7.8GB, 8.9GB, 9.6GBClose to the ceiling; background updates could push you overCompare 10GB with 20GB or another slightly larger plan
9GB, 13GB, 8GBOne recurring busy month might incur add-onsWork out why the 13GB month happened and price the larger tier
16GB, 18GB, 21GB10GB is the wrong regular allowanceLook at 20GB, 30GB or more

These are illustrative customer histories, not measurements of UK subscribers. If the 13GB month was a one-off holiday with poor Wi-Fi, a flexible top-up may do. If it happens whenever you commute or work remotely, pay for the data you need.

You can review billed usage in your current provider's app. On an iPhone, Settings → Mobile Data shows app usage, but the device counter may not reset on your billing date. On many Android phones, Settings → Network & internet → SIMs → App data usage lets you pick a period, though menus differ. For the final decision, prefer your provider's billing-period figures.

If your busiest month is close to 10GB, compare the 20GB live offers before selecting either 10GB contract. This is especially important with a provider that charges by the megabyte above the allowance.

What is the real cost of a 10GB SIM over a year or two?

To compare fairly, pick the dates you need service and add every payment needed to cover them. A rolling 30-day bundle is not billed on the same schedule as a calendar-month pay-monthly contract, and a 24-month starting rate may rise later.

Here is a hypothetical comparison, not a current offer price or a prediction of Sky's increases:

Example costRolling 30-day plan A24-month calendar-month plan B
Periodic charge£9 per 30 days£7 per month initially
First 12 charges£108 for 360 days£84 for the first 12 calendar months, if the price stays £7
Continuous cover for 365 daysA 13th renewal is needed: £117 spent for 390 days of serviceNormally 12 monthly payments cover the first year: £84 before any rise
24-month agreementNo obligation to stay 24 monthsIf £7 continued for all 24 months: £168 minimum-term payments
If the long plan rose to £11 after month 9Not applicable9 × £7 + 15 × £11 = £228 over 24 months
Leaving after six monthsNo further renewals after a valid cancellationPossible early-termination liability under the agreement

A useful short-stay test: six calendar months normally last longer than 180 days. At £9 per 30 days, seven renewals (£63) are needed to cover a stay lasting more than 180 but no more than 210 days. The hypothetical 24-month plan still creates a longer contractual commitment, and its early-exit liability cannot be calculated without the actual contract. If you're confident you will keep a Sky SIM for the full term, assess the entire stated payment schedule instead.

Why it matters: the hypothetical long plan's headline £7 looks cheaper than £9, but a scheduled increase moves its 24-month total from £168 to £228. Apply only the actual plan's disclosed increases; do not treat these examples as current provider quotes.

Can the specific Sky 10GB promotional price be redeemed at checkout?

A DealPriceCheck affiliate card can show a promotional amount that differs from Sky's general shop. Our specific Sky 10GB offer has a tracked View Deal route and has displayed a 24-month plan with a lower starting price than Sky's general shop. The observed Awin link confirms the tracking route, not final price eligibility or a completed sale. If the checkout price is different, do not assume the DealPriceCheck card is a binding quote.

Follow that exact route and read the Contract Summary before agreeing. Confirm the starting price, the months it applies to, any scheduled increases, the total minimum-term commitment, upfront fees and early-exit provisions. Do not buy a 24-month tariff because one screen showed an attractive first-month figure.

The Sky Mobile provider catalogue shows other plan sizes and terms if the 10GB offer is no longer suitable. Its 30-day and 24-month products are not interchangeable.

What happens when you use more than 10GB?

On 1pMobile's 10GB Boost, running out of included UK data does not necessarily stop mobile data at zero cost. The published product terms specify 1p per MB for additional UK data, deducted from the usage-credit balance. The product also describes an automatic £10 usage-balance top-up when that balance falls below £2, so check your account settings and the checkout conditions.

Extra mobile data after using 10GBIllustrative charge at 1p/MB
100MB£1
300MB£3
500MB£5
About 1,000MBAbout £10
About 2,000MBAbout £20

These examples assume the stated per-MB tariff and decimal MB units. The exact total depends on charging units and account conditions. The point is that an allowance can end without spending ending.

This is where a small step up to a larger bundle can pay for itself. If, hypothetically, a 20GB or 50GB plan on a suitable network costs £2 more per renewal, using only 200MB beyond the smaller plan at 1p/MB wipes out the saving. The larger plan still needs comparable coverage and terms.

For Sky, the alternative is not automatically the same per-MB system. The relevant plan may let you use Piggybank, buy a data add-on or change allowance through Mix under its rules. For Talkmobile, spusu, Asda and O2, check each product's own out-of-bundle process instead of applying 1pMobile's or Sky's rules.

If your busiest ordinary month is already 9GB to 10GB, check the 20GB live offers before choosing a 10GB plan. A small difference in the monthly payment can be cheaper than one unexpected overage bill.

Which network is better for a 10GB SIM: EE, O2 or Vodafone/Three?

Use the network that works in the places that matter to you, not just the one with the biggest national coverage claim. A cheap 10GB bundle is poor value if it drops calls or video meetings at home.

Use Ofcom's Map Your Mobile to compare predicted 4G and 5G coverage at your postcode, including indoor versus outdoor. It is a forecast, not a guarantee. If you rely on tethering or indoor calls, a practical trial in the room you use is worth more than a map.

A sensible buying order is signal first, plan size second, full cost third. If EE works and O2 does not, 1pMobile can make sense even at a higher advertised payment. If O2 is the only reliable signal, a Sky deal or another O2-based offer deserves more weight. If neither works, do not force a 10GB plan from those two partners just for the data figure.

Can you get a 10GB SIM with no credit check?

A prepaid 30-day Boost differs from a 30-day pay-monthly contract. 1pMobile's specific 10GB Boost advertises no conventional credit check, though it still needs suitable payment and identity or fraud controls, so acceptance is not guaranteed in every case.

Sky's pay-monthly application is subject to its credit and eligibility checks. A short contract elsewhere does not automatically mean no credit check either. Do not infer credit-check status from "SIM-only" or "30-day" alone.

If avoiding conventional credit checks is central to your choice, use the no-credit-check SIM guide to compare prepaid and pay-monthly arrangements separately.

Which 10GB SIM is better for EU roaming?

A UK 10GB allowance is not a promise of 10GB free in every country. Check the destination, the product's roaming rules and any fair-use period before you travel. 1pMobile and Sky handle EU roaming very differently.

1pMobile 10GB: Its eligible Boost lets you use your domestic bundle in listed European destinations, subject to fair-use and long-stay rules. The operator's published 14GB maximum applies to larger Boosts; it does not increase a 10GB Boost to 14GB. The 14GB roaming badge visible on a 10GB product card is therefore not a promise of 14GB included abroad. Check how extra data is charged on the exact Boost.

Sky Mobile 10GB: Sky's current roaming shop describes the Global Roaming Passport, generally £2 per charged day of mobile use in participating destinations. Eligible Sky VIP Diamond customers may qualify for a free pass. The charge is triggered by covered use, not simply by being outside the UK; other destinations can have different rates. Check your spend cap, destination and fair-use terms before travelling.

For scale, seven separate days of chargeable roaming-pass use at £2 a day means £14, before any other chargeable usage. A seven-day trip with no covered mobile use on some days would not automatically incur seven daily passes. A plan that looks cheaper every month at home can be a poorer fit if you travel often. See our EU roaming guide for wider options.

Do 10GB SIM-only deals include 5G, eSIM and hotspot use?

5G: Network support and a 5G label on a card are not speed guarantees. Your phone must support the relevant bands, the product must include 5G and your locations must have usable coverage. Two plans on the same host network can have different extras or speed rules.

eSIM: Sky's 10GB card in our catalogue states eSIM support. The 1pMobile 10GB card says "Not stated", even though 1pMobile offers eSIM more generally. That means the card has not confirmed the product's eSIM eligibility, not that 1pMobile never supports eSIM. If you have an eSIM-only handset, verify the exact plan and new-customer installation route before buying. Our eSIM catalogue shows offers with recorded attributes.

Tethering: 1pMobile confirms ordinary tethering from a phone, with usage deducted from your included allowance. Hotspotting a laptop can use data quickly because updates, cloud backup and video meetings run in the background. A plan that permits tethering does not certify your 4G/5G home router, business use or a Wi-Fi-only tablet. For those questions see the hotspot and tethering guide.

What if 5GB, 20GB or 50GB is better than either 10GB deal?

Do not force a 10GB choice when a suitable 5GB or 20GB offer has a lower real cost or a safer buffer. This table is a short decision aid for the two named plans, not a substitute for the site's live data-allowance catalogues.

Your situationCompare firstReason
Highest normal use under 4GB5GB plansYou may save by not paying for 10GB you never need
Usually 5GB to 7GB10GB plansComfortable buffer for a normal month
Usually 8GB to 10GB10GB and 20GBSmall overages and background downloads matter
Occasionally 12GB to 20GB20GB plansMay cost less than data add-ons
Regularly more than 20GB30GB, 50GB or higherDo not buy the wrong-sized product because its headline price is low
Not sure about the networkAn eligible rolling plan on that host networkAvoid a long commitment until you have tested the signal

A useful same-provider comparison: see 1pMobile 5GB, 1pMobile 10GB and 1pMobile 50GB. All three are EE-network rolling Boosts in our catalogue, each with a tracked View Deal button. Check the current price gap, because a larger plan can be only slightly dearer while protecting you from per-MB charges. If you only use 2GB, though, a larger allowance is still needless.

How do you switch to a 10GB SIM and keep your number?

Switching SIM does not usually mean losing your UK mobile number. For a normal single-number switch, Ofcom's Text to Switch process gives you a short route to keep it.

  1. Check your current agreement first. Text `INFO` to 85075 to request contract-status information and find out whether early termination charges may apply.
  2. Choose the plan and coverage before requesting the switch. Confirm the term, physical SIM or eSIM, and the data rules.
  3. Keep your number: text `PAC` to 65075 from your old SIM and give that code to the new provider. If you want a new number, text `STAC` to 75075 instead.
  4. Follow the new provider's activation instructions. Keep access to the old SIM until the transfer completes. A valid PAC can expire, so do not request one months before you buy.

Ofcom's standard single-number transfer is normally completed within one working day after the new provider receives a valid code, subject to cut-offs and exceptions. Multiple-number and business accounts can follow different processes. Do not cancel your old line separately before porting if you want to keep the number.

What should you check before pressing View Deal?

Before opening either partner offer, check the few items that can change the total cost:

  1. The exact allowance: is 10GB included in every renewal, or temporarily boosted from a smaller plan?
  2. The host network: which one works at home, work and on your commute?
  3. The whole term: a renewable 30-day bundle or a 12- or 24-month minimum, and what does leaving early cost?
  4. Every payment: introductory discount, future contractual rises, upfront charges and roaming fees.
  5. Excess data: does the service stop, slow, need an add-on or bill per MB? Check automatic top-up settings.
  6. Your phone: unlocked, 4G/5G capable, and compatible with the physical SIM or eSIM required.
  7. Travel and extras: actual destination allowance, roaming day passes, rollover conditions and any credit check.
  8. The checkout route: open the relevant DealPriceCheck Full plan details page and select its existing View Deal button. Verify the product terms before committing.

Ready to choose? Start with the live 10GB comparison. For the two named partner options, use 1pMobile 10GB or Sky Mobile 10GB. For the two named offers, the product cards show the relevant terms before the existing View Deal button; the wider catalogue remains useful for price-led comparisons.

1pMobile vs Sky Mobile 10GB: frequently asked questions

Is 1pMobile or Sky Mobile cheaper for 10GB?

It depends on the dates you need cover, Sky's full 24-month payment schedule and whether the promotional rate is confirmed at checkout. 1pMobile renews every 30 days and is easier to stop; Sky's named deal locks in a longer minimum term. The 10GB catalogue is the right place to compare the current cash prices of other operators.

Is 10GB enough for a month on a smartphone?

Often yes, if most streaming and downloads happen over Wi-Fi and your highest normal mobile-data use is below about 8GB. Check recent billed use instead of relying on a national average. If you repeatedly use more than 10GB, look at 20GB options.

Does a 10GB SIM mean I get 10GB every day?

No. It normally means one shared 10GB allowance for the product's billing or renewal period. It is not a daily limit, and unused data is not carried forward unless the plan has a rollover feature.

Is 1pMobile 10GB on EE's network?

Yes. The 1pMobile Boost uses EE's UK radio infrastructure, but the contract, billing, customer support and extras come from 1pMobile. Compare the exact 10GB plan, not an EE retail contract with the same data number.

Is Sky Mobile 10GB a rolling contract?

The specific Sky 10GB deal linked here has a 24-month minimum term. Sky sells other SIM arrangements, so do not assume every Sky offer is fixed term, or that a different short plan has the same price.

Can I get a 10GB SIM with no credit check?

1pMobile's named prepaid 10GB Boost advertises no conventional credit check. Other providers, including Sky pay-monthly, have different application rules. Check the exact tariff and your eligibility, because a 30-day duration alone does not establish credit-check status.

What happens if I go over 10GB on 1pMobile?

Extra UK data is charged at 1p per MB from your usage-credit balance, so 500MB costs £5 and about 1,000MB about £10. An automatic £10 top-up can apply when the balance falls below £2. Check your account settings and consider a larger plan if you regularly go over.

Is 10GB enough for a laptop hotspot?

For occasional light work it may be, but video calls, operating-system updates and cloud sync can use a lot quickly. Use trusted Wi-Fi when you can, and see our hotspot buying advice if you tether regularly.

Is 10GB better value than 20GB?

Only if it covers your needs and costs less in total. A 20GB plan can be cheaper than a 10GB plan on another network or term, and a small price gap may be worth avoiding one excess-data event. Compare 10GB and 20GB with the same coverage requirements.

Can Sky Piggybank stop unused 10GB data going to waste?

Eligible unused data from Sky's finite-data plan is saved to Piggybank after the billing period. You can redeem whole GB to top up an eligible SIM, and balances expire after 12 months. That may be worthwhile for uneven usage, but it is not cash and does not remove the 24-month obligation on the linked offer.

Is 10GB of EU roaming included with every UK 10GB SIM?

No. 1pMobile has eligible European use of its UK bundle under the applicable conditions. Sky may charge a daily roaming pass on trips to participating countries, subject to current exceptions. Other operators can have much lower EU quotas than their UK allowances.

Can I use an eSIM with a 10GB plan?

Some offers support eSIM, but it depends on the plan, your device and new-customer provisioning. The Sky 10GB card records eSIM, while our 1pMobile 10GB card does not state it. Confirm compatibility before paying, especially with eSIM-only phones.

How do I keep my phone number when changing to 10GB?

Text `PAC` to 65075 from your existing UK number and give the code to your new provider during the switch. Check existing contract charges first, and do not cancel the old service separately if you want to transfer the number.

Verdict: 1pMobile or Sky Mobile for 10GB?

Choose 1pMobile 10GB if EE reception is reliable and you want a 30-day prepaid arrangement with no long-term commitment. Its main trap is billable excess data and the way your usage-credit balance can be topped up. If you are often close to 10GB, compare 1pMobile's 50GB alternative instead of assuming a small bundle always costs less.

Choose Sky Mobile 10GB if O2 reception is better, the offer's full 24-month payment schedule suits you and Piggybank will genuinely help. Do not mistake a low promoted opening price for a guarantee about the whole contract, and do not overlook Sky's roaming-pass charges.

Choose a different operator or allowance if Talkmobile, spusu, Asda, O2 or a neighbouring data tier gives you better signal and a lower real cost. The exact 10GB live catalogue and under-£10 comparison exist to help with that choice, not to steer you towards a particular network.

DealPriceCheck compares selected UK SIM-only offers and may earn commission from eligible partner purchases. It is not a whole-of-market catalogue. Prices, product terms and availability can change; check the linked current offer and final provider Contract Summary before buying.

Related guides