DealPriceCheckCompare today. Save tomorrow.

Comparison

Lyca Mobile vs EE: Is EE Worth Paying More For?

Lyca Mobile and EE both use EE's UK mobile network, so paying more for an EE-branded SIM does not automatically buy better reception. Start with Lyca if you want a competitively priced prepaid bundle, included calls to eligible overseas numbers or EU roaming without an extra daily pass. Consider EE if its particular plan gives you something you will actually use: a suitable speed tier, eligible 5G+ access, Data Gifting, EE One discounts, premium extras or broader inclusive travel. The right comparison is the service and full commitment, not two logos using the same masts.

Compare Lyca Mobile deals · Compare EE SIM-only deals · Browse all EE-network SIMs

Lyca Mobile vs EE at a glance

What mattersLyca MobileEE-branded SIMWhat should decide?
UK host networkEEEEBoth start from the same underlying network; check your exact postcode
CoverageEE-based 4G/5G, subject to product and handset supportEE's own coverageShared infrastructure does not certify identical real-world behaviour
30-day choicePrepaid 30-day bundlesSelected rolling Pay Monthly SIMsPayment method, renewal and usable allowance
Longer commitmentSome 12- and 24-month products24-month and selected flexible productsFull minimum-term cost and price-change terms
5GAvailable on eligible Lyca SIMsAvailable; access to 5G+ depends on EE plan/deviceDon't confuse ordinary 5G with 5G+
Speed restrictionsCheck the selected bundle and fair useEE lists speed-limited No Frills and Essentials options, and faster eligible tiers; even official No Frills summaries differVerify the exact product’s cap, not the brand name
Wi-Fi and 4G CallingSupported on eligible devicesSupported on eligible devicesCheck the exact phone and software profile
eSIMAvailable on eligible orders and devicesAvailable on eligible EE plans/devicesThe card and activation route, not the brand
International calls from UKQualifying bundles include minutes to specified destinationsStandard UK minutes do not mean free overseas callsCountry, landline/mobile eligibility and monthly minutes
European roamingIncluded on qualifying bundles, with plan-specific capsOften an added charge on basic newer tariffs; included on eligible higher tiersIncluded countries, data cap and how many travel days
Roaming hotspot useLyca's included EU roaming terms exclude tetheringCheck the chosen EE plan and roaming termsImportant for travellers working on laptops
Family and household extrasCompare each separate line and bundleData Gifting, eligible multi-line and EE One arrangementsTotal household cost, account ownership, eligibility
Main DealPriceCheck routeLive Lyca offersLive EE offersOpen Full plan details and then the card's View Deal

Neither network needs to be declared universally better. When the local signal comes from the same host, contract structure, speed tiers, roaming rules and the value of extras are the meaningful differences.

Is Lyca Mobile's EE coverage the same as EE's own?

Lyca Mobile now uses EE, not O2, for its UK mobile coverage. EE is the host network and Lyca is a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO). You should therefore examine EE's predicted 4G and 5G signal for your address when choosing either provider, rather than assuming Lyca uses a separate network.

This is not a guarantee that every device, service or performance outcome will be identical. A wholesale relationship does not automatically prove access to every host-network feature, priority rule, band, calling profile or next-generation technology. Conversely, it does not prove that a Lyca customer is deliberately slowed down whenever an EE customer is nearby. Unsupported claims about permanent prioritisation are not a substitute for a local test.

How can you check coverage when both use EE?

  1. Use Ofcom's Map Your Mobile for EE at home, at work and on your usual routes. Look at predicted indoor 4G as well as outdoor 5G, because ordinary calls and indoor data matter more than a headline coverage percentage.
  2. Check your handset model and software against your chosen provider's Wi-Fi Calling and VoLTE instructions. Even phones unlocked to every network may use different carrier configurations.
  3. If you already have an EE SIM that works, changing to Lyca is primarily a decision about price, features and administration. Still test Lyca with your exact handset before transferring a number used for banking or business.
  4. In a congested area, compare real voice quality, responsiveness, upload speeds and everyday apps at similar times. One 5G speed test does not establish a provider-wide result.

Ofcom's map shows predicted network availability, not a promise of identical retail and MVNO performance. For the technical distinction, read our MVNO coverage and speeds guide.

Does Lyca have weaker 4G or 5G because it is cheaper?

There is no sound basis for a blanket answer. The two products use EE radio infrastructure, but an identical signal indicator is not a controlled test of throughput, congestion, latency or supported features. Avoid older comparisons that rely on fixed numbers of 5G towns or assert that a specific 4G band is indefinitely unavailable to every Lyca customer without fresh first-party evidence.

If a certain location works poorly on the underlying EE network, buying EE instead of Lyca is unlikely to be the most reliable way to solve a fundamental coverage gap. If your requirement is a different host network, compare O2, Three and Vodafone options rather than two EE-based SIMs.

Lyca Mobile vs EE price: what is the real difference?

Lyca is often the better-value starting point for straightforward SIM-only use, but the cheapest first payment does not establish the cheapest full period. The two brands offer different mixes of 30-day and longer contracts, special benefits, introductory discounts and renewal rules.

A fair comparison needs a common usage scenario. Ask how much data you actually consume in a busy month, how long you intend to keep the SIM, whether you need a phone or just a SIM, and whether roaming or international calling would otherwise cost extra.

Compare useful live DealPriceCheck examples

These are identified catalogue products, not a claim that every plan on the site has the same allowances or checkout terms.

Buyer needLyca card to checkEE card to checkMeaningful difference
Light use with no long lock-inLyca's available 30-day bundlesEE No Frills 5GB rolling5GB versus the smallest suitable Lyca allowance; same host, different payment and cost
Around 30GB without a long contractLyca National Plus 30GBEE's currently listed rolling SIMsDo not pretend there is a matched EE 30GB rolling card in the current catalogue
Medium or high data with a long commitmentLyca's current longer-term plansEE 50GB-labelled 24-month cardThe EE card displays 49GB in the data field; verify the provider's actual allowance
Large data allowanceLyca's 75GB / 120GB choicesEE 100GB-labelled 24-month cardThe EE card displays 98GB in the data field; compare the verified allowance at checkout
Unlimited UK data on a rolling planLyca UK Plan UnlimitedEE No Frills Unlimited rollingUnlimited quantity does not mean identical speed, extras or roaming
Unlimited on a long commitmentLyca 24 Month Unlimited or Unlimited PlusEE Essentials Plus Unlimited 24-monthMatch the actual term, roaming tier, speed limit and price increases

Catalogue data discrepancy: the EE card labelled 50GB displays 49GB in its structured data field, and the one labelled 100GB displays 98GB. We cannot resolve the discrepancy from the published card, so neither is a verified exact-allowance match. Check EE’s final product summary before comparing their cost per gigabyte. The live offer data has not been edited.

Why should a buyer compare 30 days against 24 months carefully?

Lyca's standard National Plus purchase is a prepaid 30-day plan. EE also lists rolling SIMs, but some of its prominently priced deals require a 24-month minimum commitment. A 30-day prepaid plan can generally be stopped much sooner than a fixed-term contract; that flexibility has value if you travel, change jobs or may need another network.

Count the full period. Twelve separate 30-day renewals cover 360 days, while twelve calendar-month bills cover a calendar year. For a two-year comparison, add every promotional period, every post-promotion charge, all required later payments, any known scheduled rise and costs for services not included. If you leave a 24-month contract early, check the applicable exit liability rather than treating the opening monthly price as the whole cost.

For example, consider two hypothetical, equally suitable plans: Plan A is £11 per renewal and Plan B £16. Over six equal renewal periods, they cost £66 and £96. If Plan A also forces £6 of international-call spending each period while Plan B includes those calls, their totals become £102 versus £96. If you make no overseas calls, the cheaper base plan wins. These numbers are illustrations, not quoted Lyca or EE tariffs.

What about EE's annual price rises?

An EE Pay Monthly commitment can contain scheduled pounds-and-pence increases, with rules depending on when the contract was taken out and the specific product. EE publishes different amounts for different contract cohorts. A rolling, older or specialist plan should not automatically be assigned the same rise as a new 24-month agreement. Check the contractual increase schedule and your likely bill across the entire minimum term.

Our EE deal pages may list an effective monthly cost that accounts for recorded rises. For example, the EE 50GB-labelled card records later scheduled bills as well as the initial amount. The total cannot be compared against a Lyca introductory first payment. Read the SIM-only price rises guide for the difference between fixed-pound increases, later promotional charges and contracts with different start dates.

Lyca's existing tariff cards may state 'no annual price rises', but a promotion ending or a separately priced renewal can still change what you actually pay. The Lyca 24 Month Unlimited card has an introductory phase followed by a different regular charge. Those two prices are not an annual inflation rise, and both belong in the calculation.

Are Lyca and EE equally fast on 4G and 5G?

They use the same host network, but plan-level speed limits can matter more than the brand. EE explicitly publishes different speed ceilings for its consumer tiers. Some lower-cost EE tariffs are restricted, while qualifying higher tiers support faster access and additional network features.

EE plan familyPublished plan-level characteristicWhy a buyer should care
No FrillsPlan-specific: EE’s current Short Terms page says 10Mbps, while another EE SIM shop page states 25MbpsThese are conflicting official summaries, not a universal cap. Ask which limit applies to the exact SKU at checkout
EssentialsUp to 100Mbps on applicable plansSubstantially higher potential speed; actual radio conditions still decide the result
Essentials PlusSelected products include capped speeds and Europe roamingAn extra travel benefit may be more valuable than speed alone
All Rounder / Full WorksEligible products advertise uncapped plan speeds and premium benefitsA higher ceiling is useful only with compatible phone, coverage and genuine high-bandwidth needs

For Lyca, check the specific plan’s data policy and any advertised restrictions rather than proclaiming that it is uncapped in every situation. EE’s own published No Frills summaries do not consistently give the same speed cap, so do not infer a precise speed ceiling from a plan-family name or our card if it does not list one. EE’s retail network ownership does not establish that its lowest speed tier will outperform an eligible Lyca service; a premium EE tier can nevertheless offer additional supported functions.

What is EE 5G+, and does Lyca get it?

EE's 5G+ is its next-generation standalone 5G service, distinct from ordinary 5G coverage. EE's official 5G+ guidance sets conditions around a qualifying plan, a compatible device and being in a supported coverage area. Those conditions include eligible All Rounder or Full Works SIM products.

Lyca advertises 5G, but ordinary Lyca 5G should not be advertised as equivalent to EE's eligible 5G+ or 5G Calling product without evidence for the specific device and tariff. People who prioritise standalone 5G functions may therefore have a reason to investigate EE directly, while those simply wanting dependable 4G/5G data should start with local performance and price.

Can both make calls through Wi-Fi?

Yes, on compatible devices and supported services. Lyca now provides Wi-Fi Calling, contrary to older online comparisons that said it did not. EE also offers Wi-Fi Calling and 4G Calling (VoLTE). This can help with indoor calls where mobile signal is weak but a reliable broadband connection is available.

Do not assume that an unlocked 4G phone automatically supports every carrier profile. Look up the exact model and software, and test incoming calls, outgoing calls and verification texts before porting a vital number. Our Wi-Fi Calling and VoLTE guide covers the practical compatibility checks.

Does Lyca offer better European roaming than EE?

For an ordinary newer lower-tier EE SIM, Lyca's included European roaming can be a substantial practical advantage. But it is not a universal Lyca win: qualifying higher-tier EE plans include roaming, and their eligible data ceiling can be higher. Destination lists and permitted uses are also different.

Lyca includes EU Roaming Zone access on eligible national plans, with plan-specific allowances. Its published standard fair-use limit is commonly up to 12GB on capped bundles, while qualifying unlimited products can allow up to 35GB. These are not interchangeable: our named Lyca 24 Month Unlimited card records 30GB roaming, while 24 Months Unlimited Plus records 35GB. The exact product and its UK allowance control what you can use. Thus a 6GB UK plan does not automatically provide 12GB abroad, nor does 30GB National Plus mean 30GB in Europe.

EE's ordinary post-July-2021 plans generally do not all include Europe roaming for free. Eligible higher tiers, certain inclusive extras and relevant legacy arrangements differ. The operator publishes a 50GB overseas fair-use ceiling for qualifying roaming use on larger home allowances. That is not an automatic 50GB gift or a promise that every EE plan includes free roaming. EE's published legacy exemptions and Republic of Ireland treatment also require care.

European-travel needLyca decisionEE decision
One short trip, little dataA qualifying included allowance may avoid daily roaming feesWork out the pass or daily cost for the actual destination and dates
About 10GB abroadA suitable larger capped bundle may cover itCheck whether roaming is inclusive or paid, and your home allowance
About 20–30GB abroadCompare the specific unlimited product: our two named 24-month Lyca cards state 30GB and 35GB respectivelyAn eligible EE tier or paid roaming arrangement may offer enough, with its own 50GB ceiling
About 40–50GB abroadStandard capped Lyca bundles and many unlimited variants may fall shortLook for a qualifying EE plan with enough UK data and the right roaming terms
Republic of IrelandConfirm the plan's included countries and fair-use conditionsEE generally treats Republic of Ireland differently from other newly charged European destinations
Switzerland or outside the EUCheck the actual Lyca zone rather than European geographyEE's zone and the exact inclusive Extra may be different
Working with a laptop abroadLyca's included EU Roaming terms exclude tetheringConfirm EE's chosen plan, hotspot policy and roaming conditions before relying on it

Can you tether a laptop while roaming on Lyca?

Not under Lyca's published inclusive EU roaming terms. The official policy lists 'mobile data sharing or tethering' among excluded services. This is an easily missed difference if you work remotely, travel with children using tablets or rely on your phone as a hotel Wi-Fi fallback.

Do not plan a working holiday around a Lyca headline roaming allowance alone. If laptop use is essential, check a suitable EE roaming arrangement or a separately verified travel product and its tethering rules. See our hotspot and tethering guide and EU roaming comparison for the wider decision.

What about India, China and other non-European travel?

Some named Lyca unlimited products advertise included roaming in India, and specific products publish limited data for China. The UK Plan Unlimited deal card records EU and India roaming up to a plan-specific ceiling and a separate China allocation. These are not features to attribute to National Plus or all Lyca customers.

EE's relevant premium roaming tiers or travel passes can also cover a wider set of destinations, subject to the exact plan, country and fair-use terms. Rather than compare a country name alone, compare the inclusive data amount, how many days you need, whether hotspot use is allowed, and the extra cost of getting there.

Lyca vs EE for international calls from the UK

Lyca is a particularly strong starting point when you make traditional calls to eligible foreign numbers. Its National Plus and certain unlimited bundles advertise 100 international minutes to named destinations. But the correct question isn't simply 'Does it have 100 minutes?' It is 'Does it include the country and type of number I actually dial?'

Separate three services: calling a foreign number while physically in Britain, using your phone abroad, and using internet calling apps. They're charged or deducted in different ways. An included European roaming allowance doesn't establish that UK-to-India or UK-to-Poland calls are free. Nor does a standard EE unlimited-UK-minutes plan imply unlimited international calls.

How do you test whether bundled international minutes are worthwhile?

  1. Identify the actual destinations and whether they are mobile or landline numbers.
  2. Check the eligibility list and allocated minutes for the exact Lyca bundle.
  3. Estimate the minutes you use in a normal period, not the most unusual holiday month.
  4. Compare with EE's relevant published international rates or a genuinely available add-on. Include the underlying SIM cost.
  5. If you almost always use WhatsApp, FaceTime Audio or Signal over Wi-Fi, don't pay extra just to acquire dialled international minutes you won't use.

An international-call saving is a real saving only if it replaces a service you would otherwise pay for. For a destination-by-destination market comparison, read our guide to UK SIMs for international calls.

Are EE's extras worth paying more for?

They can be, particularly for an eligible household already buying other EE services. The mistake is treating every named Extra or headline discount as cash you definitely save. Most have plan, account, service and timing conditions.

EE One: does having EE broadband change the answer?

Possibly. EE One is designed for qualifying EE broadband and EE Pay Monthly households. Published benefits can include a data boost to eligible unlimited service and discounts for qualifying mobile plans. The broadband and mobile accounts must satisfy EE's current linking and plan rules; not every rolling, discounted or PAYG plan is eligible.

If your household already has eligible EE broadband, work out your actual payable mobile total after confirmed EE One benefits. A discount could make an EE plan competitive with Lyca, or EE's unlimited benefit could remove the need for a larger separate data bundle. The answer may be different if you must buy new broadband just to qualify.

EE One should not be treated as a universal automatic saving for any EE customer. Benefits can be lost if eligibility or the qualifying broadband service ends. For household choices beyond this pair, see our family SIM deals guide.

Data Gifting and multi-line plans

EE offers Data Gifting between eligible lines on the same account and publishes specific rules about which plans can participate. Its help page identifies Essentials, All Rounder and Full Works arrangements, with conditions for recipients and unlimited donors. Gifted data does not simply carry forward forever.

That is useful when one family member needs more data than another. But two low-cost individual Lyca bundles may still cost less than two qualifying EE plans even after a household discount. Compare the full family bill and the effort of managing the lines, not only the availability of a gifting button.

Inclusive Extras, Stay Connected Data and premium tiers

EE advertises extras such as streaming or entertainment services on qualifying tiers, plus Stay Connected Data on certain plans after the high-speed allowance runs out. That is not equivalent to keeping your original full speed or buying unlimited data. EE also markets premium network functions on eligible high-tier plans.

Put a real value on each benefit. If an Extra replaces a subscription you already buy, use the amount you actually avoid paying. If you wouldn't subscribe without the bundle, valuing it at the full retail price overstates the saving. Read the exact plan summary for trial periods, eligibility and service availability.

Is customer service better on EE or Lyca Mobile?

The same host network does not mean the same account support or customer experience. Activation problems, billing disputes, porting delays and getting help matter if this will be your main number. Compare the support channels available for your specific product, how you can manage renewals, and what you would do if an eSIM or number transfer fails.

A useful independent but historical reference is the January 2026 Which? UK mobile-provider survey. Its published customer scores were 74% for EE and 68% for Lycamobile. However, the Lycamobile sample included just 67 customers against 1,028 for EE, and Which? states that the survey was unweighted and may not represent the wider population. That is a reason to investigate support and billing carefully, not proof that any particular customer will get worse support on Lyca or better mobile reception on EE.

If a lower bill is your main priority and you can manage service online, Lyca may still offer the better value. If you depend on a main number for work, factor in your preferred support route alongside the tariff, roaming and speed tier. For Lyca-specific contact and complaint options, see our Lyca provider review.

Are unlimited data plans equally unlimited?

No. A label of 'Unlimited' describes the data allocation offered under a product's policy; it does not guarantee uncapped speed, unlimited roaming, industrial hotspot use or freedom from fair-use restrictions.

EE’s No Frills speed ceiling must be confirmed for the particular SIM, because its official consumer pages give different figures. EE also says it may manage speeds at busy sites after exceptionally high monthly use; its current consumer SIM page cites 600GB in a month. Other EE plan families differ in speeds and additional access. Lyca’s UK unlimited bundles have separate fair-use terms, and their European allowance remains capped even when UK use is unlimited.

A person using 20–30GB of ordinary phone data may be better served by a suitable capped plan than paying for 'Unlimited'. A heavy downloader, someone working from a hotspot, and a family using several separate lines should each examine fair use, speed ceilings, supported device types and total cost independently.

Use the EE unlimited plans guide and our current unlimited SIM catalogue if the main intent is choosing among all high-data offers rather than just these two brands.

What about eSIM, credit checks and cancellation?

Lyca offers eSIM on eligible UK plans and compatible devices. EE also supports eSIM, but 'eSIM: Not stated' on a DealPriceCheck EE card is not proof that EE cannot provide eSIM. Check the purchasing route, device compatibility, existing-account conversion and replacement steps. An eSIM changes how the SIM is provisioned; it doesn't make an EE-based provider faster or create extra UK data. See our eSIM support guide.

A prepaid Lyca bundle can be attractive if you want a short commitment and to avoid a conventional Pay Monthly credit assessment. That should not be extended into a promise that every Lyca product is 30 days long or has no financial obligation. Its longer Pay Monthly products can involve different terms.

EE's Pay Monthly SIMs can involve credit checks; EE also has separate PAYG and social-tariff products that should not be mistaken for the same contract. If credit checks or keeping a little-used number are important, compare the exact products in our no-credit-check SIM guide and PAYG vs SIM-only guide.

For spending control, understand auto-renewal, out-of-allowance services, premium numbers, roaming outside the included zone, add-ons and whether a failed payment suspends service. Prepayment lowers some kinds of bill risk but does not make all services or commitments cost-free.

Which should you buy? Nine realistic UK situations

Your situationFirst option to investigateCheck before you pay
You already get good EE coverage and want a cheaper SIMLyca MobileExact recurring payment, 30-day vs longer-term commitment and any limitations
You need about 30GB and call overseas landlines or mobilesLyca National PlusThe destination is covered by included international minutes
You want a temporary SIM or a short commitmentLyca 30-day, compared with EE rollingAll renewal dates, account rules and support for your handset
You need a reliably supported 5G+ handset featureEligible EE premium planExact phone, 5G+ postcode and qualifying tariff
You mainly browse, message and stream at ordinary speedsCompare both before paying for a premium tierConfirm the exact No Frills cap; EE publishes conflicting 10Mbps and 25Mbps summaries
You travel to eligible EU countries but use less than 12GBQualifying Lyca bundleHome allowance, destination and the ban on included EU tethering
You need around 40GB of allowed roaming dataEligible EE roaming productYour UK allowance, 50GB policy, passes and exact charges
You already have eligible EE broadband or several EE family linesEE with verified household benefitsActual discounted total and account eligibility
You want unlimited UK data over 24 monthsCompare Lyca and EE unlimited card pairsSpeed tier, rises, promotional phase, roaming and effective full-term cost

There is no honest winner for every buyer. If EE's retail Extras don't solve a need you actually have, paying extra simply because the bill has the EE logo may achieve very little. If a qualifying EE tier materially improves the service or household costs you depend on, a cheaper Lyca price can be the wrong comparison.

Compare the right Lyca or EE SIM on DealPriceCheck

For value-first buyers: begin with Lyca's current catalogue. For a common mid-data use case, inspect National Plus 30GB. If you need unlimited UK data with a short commitment, use UK Plan Unlimited and read its distinct roaming conditions.

For long-term unlimited comparisons: check Lyca 24 Month Unlimited alongside EE's Essentials Plus Unlimited or other eligible EE tiers. One product's discounted first six months isn't interchangeable with another product's opening price and scheduled later increases.

For EE's premium benefits: browse EE's listed SIMs. Open Full plan details before a View Deal, and verify the exact speed tier, roaming entitlement, 5G+ eligibility and contract summary. Where an EE card lacks an eSIM or roaming field, do not interpret “not stated” as “not supported”; confirm the final contractual details before purchase.

Our current Lyca offer cards use tracked Awin View Deal links. EE is not a confirmed DealPriceCheck affiliate partner in this comparison, and its current provider cards link directly to EE. We do not replace any tracked Lyca link with a non-affiliate merchant address or claim commission from an EE card. There are no links to competing comparison websites in this article.

Can you switch between EE and Lyca and keep your number?

Usually, yes. Even though both use the EE host network, EE and Lyca are different retail providers, so a move is a provider switch, not simply an internal tariff change.

  1. Test the new SIM or eSIM where practical, especially Wi-Fi Calling and incoming authentication texts.
  2. To keep your existing UK number, text PAC to 65075 from your old SIM and give the code to the new provider. A PAC is normally valid for 30 days.
  3. If you want to end the old service without bringing the number, use STAC to 75075 instead. Text INFO to 85075 if you need information about an existing contract or exit charges.
  4. Let the receiving provider arrange the transfer; an eligible switch normally completes within one working day once the provider receives a valid code. Do not separately cancel the old number before its transfer.
  5. Check the final bill or prepaid balance, new service activation and that bank verification texts reach the transferred number.

You cannot assume that switching to a different brand on the same physical network waives a previous EE contract's early termination charges. For the process, use our number-porting guide and Ofcom's switching guidance.

Lyca Mobile vs EE: frequently asked questions

Does Lyca Mobile use exactly the same network as EE?

Lyca uses EE's underlying UK network. That makes EE the correct host-network coverage check for both, but it doesn't promise identical speeds, access to every EE-branded feature or compatible calling behaviour on every phone.

Is Lyca Mobile cheaper than EE?

Often for ordinary SIM-only use, but not for every contract or household. Compare the same usable data over the same total period, including promotions, annual increases, roaming, international calling and discounts you genuinely qualify for.

Is EE coverage better than Lyca coverage?

They share EE's network, so local EE coverage is the appropriate starting point for both. Differences in device support, access features and network experience can still matter. Check indoor reception and test your chosen SIM rather than trusting a blanket winner.

Is Lyca slower than EE on 5G?

Not automatically. EE publishes speed-limited tiers such as No Frills and Essentials, while eligible higher tiers can be uncapped. Its official No Frills summaries conflict on the exact number, so check the chosen tariff. Lyca's exact service and fair use must be checked separately, and EE 5G+ access is not the same as basic 5G.

Does Lyca have Wi-Fi Calling now?

Yes. Lyca advertises Wi-Fi Calling on its UK SIM plans with compatible devices. EE also offers Wi-Fi Calling and 4G Calling. Always check the model, software and activation rules.

Does EE include EU roaming for free?

Not on every newer tariff. Eligible higher-tier plans, inclusive roaming arrangements and some legacy plans differ. Basic plans may require a daily charge or pass, while Republic of Ireland has its own treatment.

Does Lyca have free European roaming?

Eligible UK national plans include a specified European roaming allowance, typically capped by the actual home bundle and a plan-specific fair-use limit. A capped plan may have up to 12GB, while a qualifying unlimited product may offer up to 35GB. Included EU roaming excludes tethering under Lyca's published terms.

Can I use Lyca as a hotspot in Europe?

Lyca's published inclusive EU roaming terms exclude mobile-data sharing and tethering. Check alternatives before relying on your phone for laptop access while travelling.

Are EE's unlimited SIMs really unlimited?

They offer unlimited UK data subject to their applicable usage policies, but speed limits differ: the chosen No Frills product can have a speed cap, but the precise figure must be confirmed at checkout. Unlimited UK data is not an unlimited overseas allowance.

Does EE One make EE cheaper than Lyca?

It can for a qualifying broadband-and-mobile household. Work out the real EE One discounted mobile bill and confirm eligibility before deciding; benefits do not apply to every EE plan and may end if the qualifying service changes.

Can I buy an eSIM from Lyca or EE?

Both offer eSIM on eligible plans and supported devices. A deal card saying 'not stated' is missing catalogue information, not proof of unavailability. Check the selected order route and handset.

Can I move my EE number to Lyca?

Normally yes. Text PAC to 65075 from your current SIM and give the code to Lyca. Check your EE contract for possible exit charges, and don't independently cancel the number you intend to transfer.

DealPriceCheck compares selected UK SIM offers, not every product. Roaming zones, speed tiers, eligibility, prices and promotions can change. Confirm the specific deal card and the provider's final terms before ordering. Some tracked partner links may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

Related guides